Talking With A Muslim

The other night I got approached on IM by one of the Muslims from CodeCall.  He’s a nice guy, very intelligent, and had apparently been studying Muslim apologetics.  Over the course of four hours, we discussed some of the hardest challenges the Islamic world can offer against Christianity.  I attempted to provide appropriate responses, and think I did a good job.

It’s important to understand that I made a conscious choice to not attack Islam.  I was not, at first, sure why he was asking me the questions he was asking.  I can understand being confused by the story of Lot and his daughters having sex, for example.  I can understand that it is a shocking story, but that doesn’t mean it didn’t happen.  The point of the story was to explain the origin of the Ammonites and Moabites.

I found it interesting to discover, while discussing Lot, that the Muslim mindset towards holy books is that every single passage should have an immediate, obvious moral message being taught.  The Bible doesn’t always work that way.  There are several books in the Bible that are primarily history, a recording of events.  Genesis is a good example of this, as is Kings, Chronicles, etc.  It’s a direct result of the difference between how the Quran was written, and how the Bible was written.

Another issue that came up was the nature of Jesus as God’s son.  The nature of the questioning causes me to think that Muslims leap to the natural conclusion: that Christians think Jesus is somehow God’s biological son.  That, of course, is not what Christians believe.  It about a relationship, not biology.

An interesting claim made by Muslims is that the Quran is completely self-consistent.  This was brought up, along with a vague charge that the Bible is not.  At this point, I felt I was in more of a debate/evangelism effort on his part than a desire to learn about Christianity.  Since I am not particularly familiar with the Quran or any contradictions it may have had, I was in a poor position to produce them.  On the other hand, I didn’t need to.  God reminded me of a college course I took as a math major.

When I was in college, I took a course on geometry, in which we explored variations on Euclidean geometry.  Geometry on a sphere and geometry on a half-plane were the two major variants.  What we ended up with was three distinct sets of hypotheses, which resulted in three distinct, incompatible versions of geometry.  In one, the sum of the angles of a triangle is always more than 180 degrees.  In another, it’s always less than 180 degrees.  In the third, it’s always exactly 180 degrees.  Each geometry is completely self-consistent, but they cannot all describe the world around us.  In fact, NONE of them described the curvature of space-time.

Self-consistency is not the same as truth.  Self-consistency is only a prerequisite for truth.  It is a huge difference, and ended his efforts to expound on the remarkable self-consistency of the Quran.

Another point of discussion was how remarkable it was that an illiterate man (Muhammad) could rise in power to rule so many people.  I felt it was similar in nature to David’s rise from a shepard to King, or even Genghis Kahn’s conquest of most of Asia.

Finally, he started presenting passages from the Bible that could be interpreted as prophecies about Muhammad.  Around the third one, I realized where he was going and found http://www.answering-islam.org/ has a lot of the same passages listed, but puts them in context to explain why they do not refer to Muhammad.

After four hours of discussion, we called it a night.  I hope I made him think about Christianity, and I’m sure he hopes I’ll consider Islam more.  Three books that helped me in the conversation are: Islam Revealed, A Christain Arab’s View of Islam, Paul Meets Muhammad, A Christian-Muslim Debate on the Resurrection, and A Biblical Point of View on Islam.  Having read these books, I was familiar with several of the major arguments in favor of Islam, and wasn’t thrown off balance.  While I couldn’t always recall the counter-arguments, I did know they existed.  I suspect that it will become important for Christians to know the differences between Islam and Christianity in the near future, and to have a ready defense for their faith in Christ.  If they don’t, they may well lose it.

One Response to “Talking With A Muslim”

  1. Boxed Says:

    It’s always cool to have those kinds of conversations. A few weeks ago, my youth group reviewed different religious, usually a new one each week, going over how to talk to them about Christ. It didn’t go in much dept, but thats what books like those you mentioned are for. Its always good to study other religions so you know what they believe and how to speak to them about it, but thats not all. There are people who work for the government that are able to identify a false dollar bill in a flash. It is after all their job, but what’s interesting is how they can tell. They don’t study counterfeit bills. Instead they study the real thing so much that if somethings not right, they will know. So when speaking to those of different faith knowing both their points of view and what you believe in is the best mixture.

    Great post! Great blog,

    TeenChristian

Leave a Reply

